Tutor/Peer reviews

Tutorial Feedback –

week 1

Scan_20170406 (3)

My first tutorial was vague as I hadn’t quite perfected my brief. After evaluating the brief I set for myself thoroughly, I then made some slight alterations which were checked over by my tutor. After broadening the context of my brief I could then crack on and get some work done. Little changes like ‘infographic’ instead of ‘map’ were altered within my FMP/FPP proposal, as this would allow more in depth/wide spread circumstances to be explored within the topic ‘infographics’ rather than limiting my research straight away within just ‘maps’.

I also was given direction in what I could potentially look at for my actual presentation, as this is part of Unit 7.1 + 7.2 which needs to be considered and evaluated. After this tutorial I was then able to gather some research on interpretation boards and a mobile device featuring an application as well as other ideas that could potentially be adopted when my end product is being displayed.

Scan_20170406 (4)

My second tutorial was with Will who helped me round this mental block wall I was faced with – Initially I was stumped by where I should start this research. Will made it clear to not limit myself with research areas, and to start out broad, looking at all sorts of material, and then to narrow the research down making sure the research correlates some what. After this tutorial I was then able be confident with my initial research, and could crack on with it.

Scan_20170604 (4)

 

week 2

Scan_20170406 (5)

Billee’ tutorial was again very useful for acknowledging areas of primary research that I could collect. I had planned to visit the Manx Museum earlier than week 3 but I was focused on other work. Billee informed me to go to the museum asap as not having primary research or general areas of research is vital in the development of the project. So I straight away went to the Manx Museum as well as made a visit to the IOM Sea Terminal information center/tourist office where I collected mounds of relevant leaflets about the Isle of Man.

I also came up with other aspects of work that would cover primary research, thus being to use a gopro, my digital camera and a drone so I could collect certain footage, being beneficial to my project, knowing where I can find the equipment is also a major plus, it’s just a matter of actually going out and collecting camera footage, which I have planned to do over half term (easter holdiays)

Scan_20170406 (6)

My fourth tutorial was with Juan who made me consider and thoroughly consider my target audience, as without this information it is hard to progress and attain relevant research. Experimentation is something that I can’t actually start unless I have depicted an audience to revolve aspects of my work around. Since this is a map of Manx Animals, we discussed if it would be sensible to look into the Manx National Heritage and the tourist office at the sea terminal in which the end product could potentially be ‘sold or available within these places. This tutorial was beneficial as I also figured that I needed to get looking at design styles and particular artists asap so I could move onto the experimentation stage.

Scan_20170604 (5)

week 3

Scan_20170406 (7)

My next tutorial was with Kathryn who identified the importance of figuring out my animals (/types of animals and amount included) which will be displayed on my map and the styles in which I could potentially experiment with and look into further. Kathryn gave me a set amount of design styles that I should aim to look at, and a target of having 6-8 animals so I didn’t overload myself with work. Having configured a set amount of styles to explore and animals to potentially include, gave me something to work with, with a set target – which is good as some research can feel and be never ending if there isn’t an end target.

Scan_20170407

The 6th tutorial I had was with Adrian, which was the last tutorial I had before the Easter break. Adrian was very helpful to have as he suggested I was working to my targeted grade of a Distinction, which is what I need to go to my first choice uni. I asked him if he thought what I had done so far was thorough and if I could expand and add more to a certain area – I was told to make sure that I am reflecting on my work/progress on a daily basis and he suggested a ‘gant’ chart which is basically an organisational chart which ensures you work on specific areas within a specific time (context/research/problem solving/planning+production/evaluation+reflection/presentation)

Scan_20170604 (6)

week 4 (after Easter break)

Scan_20170427

My first tutorial back from the Easter break was with Billee. I had figured the specific animals that will be the primordial factor of my infographic. This means that at some point in the very near future I need to find facts about the 11 animals I have chosen which are –

  • Basking Shark
  • Seal
  • Hen Harrier
  • Manx Shearwater
  • Puffin
  • Wallaby
  • Stoat
  • Polecat
  • Mountain Hare
  • OTHER – (Manx Cat/Loghtan sheep)

Once I have found fun facts and filmed the locations of these animals of where they can be found – I can then start animating/editing certain infographics and look into the interactive side.

Scan_20170428

Adrians tutorial was encouraging due to him telling me that all my work so far was at a sophisticated level, being in control of where I’m at. I had only just started experimenting, so a predicted grade wouldn’t have been the most accurate – once out of the experimentation stage then the estimated grade is more realistic and predictable. Experimentation is something that I will get completed asap. As well as keep an eye on my bibliography and annotation/blog work.

Scan_20170604 (7)Scan_20170604 (8)

week 5

Scan_20170502

The 9th tutorial I had was with Will, he helped me break down my project concept into a graph (like the one shown in the tutorial sheet above) This graph/chart that Will told me to do helped me simplify the main focal points that I had to hone in on. This diagram fragmented the context of my of my project, making the points and areas I had to cover obvious and concise, which was reassuring. He also made me think about specific attributes within my illustrations, and how I could link context within my work which would be suitable to my target audience – ie. making the animals have empathy within their face through experimentation through adding a friendly characteristic such as a big smile (being attractive for the younger viewers)

Scan_20170504

Experimentation was well underway towards the end of the 5th week but I still had a lot to do, in which I was informed not to rush. Juan gave me ideas of how I could expand my experimentation and prompted me to explore and expand on some of my contextual theories such as colour, semiotics and how I should be interrelating this within my work throughout. He told me that once I had finished my experimentation, if it was thorough and relevant there’s no reason that I couldn’t be working at a distinction level which was a very positive comment which I needed to assign and assure.

Scan_20170604 (10)

 

 

week 6

Scan_20170510

Another positive tutorial with Will left me with new ideas and experimental values. New research areas were discovered revolving around my animals/characters on my map, which is always good as the more research and contextual elements there are – the more chance I have of achieving my desired grade. I was told my work was solid, with all round solid areas. An area I could dig deeper into and to make sure that I have thorough evidence of is the problem solving factor, this was mentioned when I asked what areas could be improved for me to hit distinction level. I have noted this down and explored further into the area. All that is left for there to do is for me to create 5 more (out of the 10) animals featured on my map as well as the map itself, and incorporate the interactivity through what seems to be via animation (using the Aurasma App) I also need to thicken my blog and show evidence of presentation research as well as finalising my presentation idea for the exhibition.

Scan_20170511

Very informative and positive 12th tutorial from Colette. Gathering other relevant primary research was established such as another visit to the wildlife park to gain relevant information revolving around my audience. Another contextual element was established also, being shape theory – once this has been done, Colette indicated my research and context was at distinction level which was promising information. My focus now to make sure evaluation+reflection is as best it can be, as well as problem solving – both elements being thoroughly backed up and evidence of this on my blog.

Scan_20170604 (11)

week 7

Scan_20170518Scan_20170518 (2)

The above tutorials happened one after another, and the key point which I gathered was to get stuck into my map, experimenting more so. Figuring out a relevant specific design style, and incorporating ‘whimsical’/ playful illustrations within my map (landmarks, icons such as peel castle, and the Laxey Wheel) The tutorials also made me hone in on the aspect of colour and the other aspects which will attract my desired younger audience demographic. Looking at my research has to show important links with my decision making and the influence within my experiments/ideas – this is another focal point for me to make sure I have done. MAP is my focus (once completed, animations can be finished off – then focusing on the interaction elements and printing!)

Scan_20170604 (12)

 

Week 8

Scan_20170604

My last tutorial was with Chris as I hadn’t had a thorough one with him yet. I had basically finished and just had to do the finishes touches to my project – Chris was very impressed which was great and moral boosting! He looked over a few things and guided me on factors I should now be prioritizing. He also suggested a few other interactive elements in which I could look further into which was helpful. (PRINTING LEFT!)

Scan_20170604 (13)


Student Feedback –

Scan_20170406

Above are a few questions I have prepared to ask people, for assisting myself on decisions and improvements that could be made with my future outcomes. Rather than judging and having my own opinion, instead gathering peer feedback and general secondary feedback.

Below consists of other preliminary questions that I have considered to ask others which is to potentially help me widen my research, and maybe build/create new ideas that I haven’t already explored. The following questions consisted of;

  • Do you think the research I’m doing is appropriate (if not, why?)
  • Are there any other artists designers that you think would benefit me to look at?
  • Any ideas on how I could present my end outcome?
  • What do you understand/interpret from the word ‘map’
  • How could you make a map more informative or exciting?
  • When ‘Isle of Man’ is mentioned, what do you think of?

The questions above have been answered by my peers, and have been great help actually, a lot more useful than I thought. The questions I prepared have given me more work to look into and ideas to think about. (primary research gathered below)

IMG_6147

Artists and designers to potentially look at from the information I gathered include the likes of; Club Studio, Fireart Studio, Dustin Wallace, Ryan Putnam, Marc Clancey and Archibald Knox.

When I asked people to describe the word ‘map’ a ‘visual guide’ was mentioned, as well as words such as ‘travel, location and information’. This was good in understanding what people expect to see on a map, especially a segment of my targeted audience.

Whilst partaking in a couple of peer group reviews I have taken bullet points throughout these evaluations of my work, noting down potential focal points which could benefit me and my end outcome. I have collected this feedback over a 3 week period and it definitely benefited me, enabling exploration of different elements – widening my research.

Scan_20170507 (18)

  • Interactive elements such as touch, sound/speech, light/motion sensors, visual aspects and other various plug ins have been discovered and made clear aspects to look into whilst I gained feedback off peers and also a tutor.
  • Other icons and suitable stand alone visuals such as emoji’s have been discussed which is something that I could incorporate within my research to add more depth and succinctness.
  • Different ways of advertisement which links to the promotion of my map, how it can be shown within my targeted location, being the wildlife park.
  • Jigsaw end outcome, as well as using stickers to make my audience interact are elements which have been identified through group discussions.

Journal

After gathering primary and secondary research, I figured that I needed to narrow my research options down, with there being so many possible animals that this map could incorporate – I don’t want to give myself too much unnecessary work. Animals cover a huge basis of organisms and living creatures – so I decided looking into the traditional Isle of Man Birds, Marine life and Mammals. Even these three subjects within Manx animals has a lot of scope of possibilities, so selecting a certain amount of animals for a certain reason has become an obstacle I am yet to climb.

I have an idea and widespread handful of potential animals which could be featured within my infographic. I have emailed and planned to go to the Manx Wildlife Trust to gather more information such as; ‘which are most popular Manx animals’ or ‘most endangered’ just so I can acquire a select group animals in which I can explore and experiment with. If this doesn’t provide me with a clearer insight into the selection of my animals, I will then pick a selection of my most favourite manx animals, and create a survey which will provide me with my target audiences favourite animals which I could then whittle down.

Once I’ve found the animals I want to display within my info-graphic, this will then allow me to explore and experiment with certain design styles that I’m interested in. The map itself shouldn’t be too hard to figure out, and the desired style I want it to obtain – but the icons and illustrations within my map could take a little longer. Looking into the different design styles is something I am doing now, once I’ve figured the possible styles I will then experiment and evaluate which style most suits.

Experimentation went very well and my desired illustration style for the animals has been established – I have started creating my animals and tested the interactive element in which I will most likely be adopting (through Aurasma) I feel confident with where I am at, although I do appreciate that with a couple of weeks to go it can get chaotic especially if time management isn’t perfect, which I am making sure mine is. I am still not 100% on the illustration style I will manipulate for my map of the Isle of Man, but this will be figured through further experimentation and feedback which is what I am focusing on.

After analysing and researching more maps, with lino and collage experiments – I have finally come up with my map template. This has led me to focus on the landmarks and other visual icons which I could potentially use on my map (laxey wheel/wildlife park) I have nearly finished my map (without the animals) there is only a compass and a possible map legend that I will need to add.

Leave a Reply

