Facts & Data visualisation

Data visualization is a general term that describes any effort to help people understand the significance of data by placing it in a visual context. Patterns, trends and correlations that might go undetected in text-based data can be exposed and recognized easier with data visualization software.

Definitions of a Fact;

  • a thing that is indisputably the case.
  • used in discussing the significance of something that is the case.
  • a piece of information used as evidence or as part of a report or news article.

Capture


reference

27c6001efc83f73333bd9199250d277c

Everyone has a colour which attracts them more so than others, this is why the above poster exists as it’s relevant and of interest to everyone. The way the graphic poster conveys the information is eye-catching and interesting, not completely unique as we have all seen a colour wheel before. The ‘find your colour, find your nature’ infographic at the start with the smeared paint gives it an arty/creative feel about it which grasped my attention.

https://blog.bufferapp.com/a-complete-guide-to-creating-awesome-visual-content

matter_survey_infographic_final-1221

‘To capture mindshare in an ocean of information, Marketers agree visual content is key’ is the title for the above graphic – This title gives the poster two themes to work (ocean/visual content) which I find clever and helpful if your struggling to create visuals for one individual topic (e.g ocean)  which is hard to attain. The compositional layout within these graphics seems to be an important factor which is one I will be focusing on – concerning the amount of facts and points to be covered,and the position/size and scale of these infographics. In my opinion the above does seem quite vague and bland, but the colours stand out, drawing the eye to the dominant red/orange colouring.


visual-ly_chickens_infographic_crop

The colours within the above piece seem to coherently match and generally compliment each other in my view, which is a positive factor that I need to consider when portraying my selected facts, the colour scheme. The text is minimal, which isn’t necessarily a bad factor as visuals convey the majority of a chosen point, and the above has interesting, simplistic visuals to back up the text.

the-divided-states-of-stem-education_53ea39f58f215_w1500

The above graphic seems ‘busy’ due to being packed with various statistics and key points shown through visuals and text. I think this design can afford to be busy as it’s still aesthetically pleasing to analyse with specific colours and the dynamic layout leading the eye. The map of America seems too generic, and has been used a thousand times already, not being original – so I think this could be a factor that could be altered with unique, less generic designs which is what I am aiming to do.

global-climatic

This graphic poster caught my eye due to the colour and the contrast within the composition, showing two sides of a story which portray different facts and key points. This opposite, contradictory style of presenting facts is interesting to analyse and covers a lot of content at the same time. I am thinking of maybe creating diverse facts which have the same statistics, being partly influenced by the image above. The work above itself is quite striking with the colours used and the layout of the design with the visual being the distinct focal point, I am going to try and use more visuals than text within my pieces as this will allow me to focus on the graphic design aspect, in which I can practice and experiment specific/varied styles.

500_f_126537825_cyf6gvu07pi1sez2hpwgh7ayd81j9qob

The above image just shows different graphs which could potentially be used when analysing and presenting data. Although some of the graphs may seem ‘too generic’ and over used within contemporary media/society – but sometimes the odd graph is good to include when portraying data as people are familiar with graphs and instantly know the piece is portraying facts. I am considering using a couple of graphs in the style shown above, but not too many as I want to create unique ways of presenting my chosen data, which engages thoroughly with the audience and is something they haven’t seen before and/or are used too.

b6d202a55b92136bf8b9ee86ec180989

The above graphic yet again shows a comparison/two sided theme in which adds contrast and excitement within the image and generally is more interesting to observe as you can analyse apposing factors. Without looking at the text, I automatically knew what the above image was trying to convey, the colours used which seep out of the right side of the brain shouted out ‘creativity’ at me, asI know there is a technical and creative side of the brain depending which side it is, shown on the above infographic. This is why I I want to create visuals which explain themselves as best possible without the text so the audience being targeted doesn’t have to examine every detail involved.

Brain size infographic

This piece of work caught my attention due to the originality of it, and the fact it is comparable to other aspects within the image (other animals) Like I’ve mentioned, a comparable infographic comes across much more exciting, intriguing and captivating the audience in some cases, as it allows them compare and learn new data in which they wouldn’t really stumble across any other way. Minimal text is used to back the images up as well which is a positive factor in my opinion, as if a graphic that is properly manipulated shouldn’t need reams of explanatory text as it should be explained dominantly through the visual.

cfem1kfusaata9c

The use of colour coding as it’s quite a crowded image is an aspect I like. Also straight away due to the visual you know it’s about animals, if you look more so you can see where the animals being showed are from… without reading a sentence. Colour coding is also a good way of including colour to attract the viewers more so and make it more fascinating for the human eye to interpret. If I had to critique this image it would  resolve around the image involving too much of the same thing (animals) which take up the majority of the composition.

free-human-research-infographic-design

This infographic poster shares a lot of features I am wanting to convey within mine – concerning the colour, amount of statistics and layout being ‘busy’/jam packed, yet aesthetically pleasing. The image makes me want to read and look at each piece of information due to the over all feel and composition, this is the effect I want to my targeted audience to feel when looking at mine. There isn’t much I dislike or would change about the above graphic as I think it looks very good as it is, I would maybe say alter/change the background but that might effect the whole look of the image.


PLAN;

-Summary

To make a series of graphic posters which could be put up in a primary/secondary school which are informative and fun, suitable for children. Also to plan and start, pretentiously finish an animated, motion based infographic video

-Goals (results/techniques/message)

4 posters revolved around jellyfish which are aesthetically pleasing to interpret for a child, and informs information that isn’t advertised or shown in common places, as I think this will make it more random, therefore interesting which attracts passers by. I have also been thinking about making a short motion graphics/animation piece which concludes of different statistics and facts revolved around the same subject being jellyfish, the reasoning behind this is because with the FMP coming up I’m thinking that I would benefit from refreshing/rejigging my memory within adobe animate CC as I am wanting to use this software throughout it. I also think that it would be a good way to engage with a younger audience also, being interesting, colourful and simple attracting the eye of a young/old child.

-Audience

Primary/Secondary school children, which age varies from as early on as 4, so will have to be visually aesthetic and acceptable for the youngest range of my audience (maybe not even being able to read) ranging to the age of 17 which could be 6th form students so my text and visuals need to be appealing, simplistic and to the point.

-How to achieve this

Bold colours, simple visuals easy to make out, vast idea generation and experimentation, primary research and secondary research, surveys and questionnaires

-Worries

Not being able to finish the animated infographic video which supports the poster.


Scan 1

I started off by breaking the brief down, and looking at the unit to see what was criteria I needed to include and look into, this enabled me to understand with more knowledge and depth. I figured out 3 vague, but the main focal points in which I could possibly adopt whilst presenting my facts visually the 3 areas consisted of; general graphic posters, using film/video with live actors and manipulating animation/motion graphics.

Initial idea development and planning is shown above where I mind mapped potential focal areas and solutions to overcome the brief! Below shows my inceptive ideas, which have been developed/altered and changed throughout the project. I started off by wanting to cover 3 topics with a series of posters and animations to conclude the chosen areas. The areas of focus comprised of Religion, Obesity and Rollerblading as individual subjects. I then shortly realised that covering three topics with a few outcomes for each subject could be a bit of handful. Thus being why I changed it down to two main topics of focus –  being Obesity and Jellyfish. These two subjects both have a large range of facts which could be conveyed, and could be tailored for different reasons targeting different audiences.

Jellyfish being a focal point was down to the decision of me liking them personally and knowing that I will enjoy and be able to crack on with ideas experimentation and research concerning this specific sea creature. I also thought that attaining a target audience would be very achievable through infographic posters which could be displayed in a school library, knowing where my finished product could be shown gave me a solid area of audience to focus on, this being a younger aged demographic of those in primary and secondary school so making up of 5-18 year olds – this could also be shown in other means of higher educational facilities within the likes of the Isle of Man College library. So I know that these posters should have a varied level of intellectual skill as well as them covering a fairly wide range of academic knowledge. Basically to not make them too hard to interpret correctly or understand, but enough to catch/grasp the elder viewers attention.

Scan 4

Obesity within young children being a topic would enable me to focus on conveying a public message with a strong demeanor, which poses a big threat in contemporary society and is already a growing issue. I thought that this could also be posed within a school/educational library as its audience would conclude of the younger generation/but would also be applicable to parents and generally an older audience – therefore this could also potentially be advertised in a shopping mall, or for an institution focused on weight gain/loss and the adversities of health.

I cancelled religion out early on, as it was much more complex to get valid ‘evidence’ of facts within this topic that were ethically and morally correct. After all, its people’s beliefs so they can’t be  noted as facts, as everyone’s opinion and outlook differs. Although I planned on looking at facts within war and crime which stems from religion, I decided to cancel this topic out. My idea for the rollerskating was to create an ‘interactive’ web page which shows some sort of parallax scrolling, showing an animated rollerskate within the webpage unleashing and identifying certain facts about rollerskating as a whole. I feel that this idea had a lot of potential, but I figured I would have to focus on this single topic as a whole as there would be quite a lot of work to do. My target audience would consist rollerskaters/rollerbladers, inline/extreme skaters and so on, generally catering for all types of rollerskaters. I feel that focusing on obesity and jellyfish would allow me to access lots of secondary research which will make help me out a lot when creating my desired posters.

fastfood

As you can see a lot of red and yellow colours are included within the graphic poster above assume this is because these colours are considered the most appetizing ones, therefore a lot of fast food companies incorporate these within their advertisement, like-so above. There is however a lot going on in the image above which can be distracting and make it hard for the eye to focus on specific features, within my posters I plan to make them to come across as a lot more simplistic so they are more attention grabbing and aesthetically pleasing to analyse.

37a840794aa252ddee09d566ae4634e8

The use of colours are definitely an initial attraction within this childhood obesity poster and help to guide the eye to the segregated sections of the image being ‘health, media, physical activity, and food’. I like the use of colours as I think it is an attraction to the younger audience as well as an elder audience.

childhood-obesity-epidemic-jumpoff

I like the minimalism approach within the above infographic as it gets to the point although at first the meaning is hard to interpret; from what I can gather the smaller ‘fast food’ burger represents an overweight child, and the larger burger represents and overweight adult. I like how the eye isn’t overwhelmed with several factors and the text is easily readable – with the ‘50%’ looking like it could be mirroring the coca-cola font, adding to the factor of weight gain etc.

895c843e78987ab4b5ae90ba306eb3b6

I like the illustrated woman within this image as it helps narrate the image as a whole, you can instantly gather an interpretation that it’s revolved around weight gain. The colour scheme is also a factor which is interesting; I think the blue and yellow compliment each other, but maybe another colour could be added to separate key parts of the text such as a the colour white or green to back up the ‘eat in moderation eat healthy’.childhood-obesity

I don’t think the composition was very well considered within this above image, nothing seems to be equal or line up coherently which for me is a big factor making a poster or image without any character, I feel that a lazy compositional layout can ruin a visual! But thats just my opinion. I do however like the 2D illustrated male figure who seems to be eating a burger, again emphasizing the point of weight gain and food.

Stop-obesity-infographic-1024x623

I feel the colours and amount of information expressed on this image can give it a bit of a scatty feeling, hence why I am thinking of doing the opposite which will be using few colours and clear concise imagery. I do still give this poster credit for conveying the aimed message, as my eyes were still intrigued following the supported text a long with the semiotics.

d6zhwzmp-1340594730

I was also thinking of taking an image like the one above, accompanying subtle but emotive text to convey a more powerful and meaningful message. I think if the correct font and style of text was used this would make a very sincere piece of imagery, conveying and advertising the scares of obesity. The same idea could be applied with the bottom image – an informative piece of photography which is completed with the backing up of text.

380_81550522Screenshot-1_30_2014,11_18_49AM

SURVEY?!?

I’m thinking of making all my posters for obesity and jellyfish mirroring a similar style of the ones shown above, with a clean and simple finishes, using 2D illustrations and colours to evoke the audience. I want to stay away from my posters being cluttered and confusing by having too much information or visuals within it.


5-Facts-about-Salps-01

As soon as you look at this image you can immediately tell its relating to the ocean and sea creatures due to the interesting and simplistic silhouettes of the animals and the fact you can see the sea bed and waves on top of the ocean.
The-fact-that-jellyfish-have-survived-for-650-million-years

I like the above poster as it gets to the point and doesn’t leave you staring at the image for more than 10 seconds trying to figure information. There’s simple text which is compositionally placed right in the center of the page making it the focal point, and the background image conveying what the message is talking about, making it a very clear and concise poster. Although I would like to maybe manipulate this style, I would be illustrating the jellyfish through digitized graphics rather than actual photography.

UFOJellyfish

This poster caught my attention due to the interesting background, being successfully utilized negative space, relating to space and giving the text and jellyfish shown in the poster lots of breathing room – which makes them stand out for the viewer, being easier on the eye. The text accompanying the image communicates coherently with the visuals very well in my opinion, having a jellyfish feeling as well as an outer space characteristic displayed within the text.

I google searched ‘illustrative typography’ and gathered these images which stood out from the rest and depict similar styles that I want to try and include in some of my finished posters. Illustrated typography can be simple and interesting to analyse as well as making the point your wanting to convey quite easily through both shape and text, which I find really fascinating and will definitely try within at least one of my posters.

In Charlottes and Wills lesson it was very useful to look at design principles, colour theory and basic typography rules. Especially with me wanting to experiment and include illustrative typography, it rejigged my memory and played a part in influencing my ideas. The above images conclude of the typography lesson we had, in which we analysed a load of typographic pieces and picked out the positives and negatives of each aspect within the poster, and tried to unravel the artists initial thoughts and what their work was trying to communicate with an audience.

Colour theory was also good to touch base on, because with my audience being a younger generation I know the colour has to be considered and is a big factor in attracting a young audience.


After doing some secondary research about jellyfish facts, I jotted several down in which I though were simple, snappy and short (ish) this would allow me to keep the poster as simple as possible. (facts gathered shown below)

references;

http://www.treehugger.com/natural-sciences/14-fascinating-facts-about-jellyfish.

htm lhttp://twistedsifter.com/2009/06/10-amazing-facts-about-jellyfish/http://all-that-is-interesting.com/jellyfish-facts#3

http://www.smithsonianmag.com/science-nature/14-fun-facts-about-jellyfish-67987765/http://protecttheoceans.org/wordpress/?p=699

http://mentalfloss.com/node/68468/%2520http:/blogs.scientificamerican.com/running-ponieshttp://www.jellywatch.org/blooms/facts

  • Some jellyfish can glow in the dark.
  • Jellyfish don’t have brains.
  • A group of jellyfish is called a bloom or a swarm.
  • A jellyfish is 95% water.
  • Jellyfish are literally boneless, brainless and heartless.
  • On average jellyfish kill more people than sharks do.
  • Jellyfish are older than dinosaurs.
  • Jelly fish aren’t actually fish since they’re vertebrates.
  • Jellies are found in all the worlds oceans.
  • A box jellyfish (sea wasp) sting can kill you within 2-3 minutes.
  • The largest jellyfish every found was a lions mane – with a diameter of 7 feet 6 inches (2.29m) It’s tentacles trailed 120 feet behind it.
  • The smallest jellyfish is the Irukandji jellyfish, which is only 11/2 inches in diameter

FACT – Jellyfish are older than dinosaurs

I started off drawing a very rough shape of what I thought represented a dinosaur figure, just the outlines. This allowed me to experiment with letters, positioning them accordingly within the shape. Below shows the first attempts of the illustrated typographic dinosaur after many alterations with letter size, scale and position.

I wasn’t fully satisfied with the first outcome so I tried again, sketching a different shaped dinosaur that I thought was popularly recognisable. I made this decision after asking my parents and fellow classmates for their feedback on whether they could fully make out the illustrated word ‘dinosaur’ without having any problems. Only a couple slightly struggled, others said it could be a little more clearer and obvious. Thus I tried again below changing the dinosaur shape completely.

Peer Feedback

– Ed: ‘I like the idea of this illustration, and I can see what is trying to be conveyed, but maybe for a younger audience a more simplistic looking dinosaur could be portrayed.’

-Aaron: ‘This looks nice and I can just about make out the dinosaur but it was hard at first to make out the letters, as some are slightly inaccurate, but I like it – maybe just play around with making the letters look clearer’

-Jordan: I can see this very well, and I know what is trying to be portrayed but maybe that’s because I have a more knowledge of typography as a whole than your average youth’

-Michael: I can see the illustration and the type which is good, but a younger viewer could possibly have difficulties at first, acknowledging and understanding the whole subject’

I then thought instead of normal text spelling out ‘are older than’ in the middle of ‘jellyfish’ and ‘dinosaurs’ I thought I could try and convey the text within a walking stick, as shown in above left image, at the bottom. Just to emphasize the age element yet again. I still want to use some sort of hand drawn text to link the two typographic illustrations.

As I was conveying an age difference within the fact, I tried to incorporate a black letter font too see how or if this made the shape/characteristics of the dinosaur and jellyfish come across as older which would back up the fact and emphasise age/time. The jellyfish only had a few initial sketches before I came across ‘the one’. I figured the ‘l,l and y’ could be manipulated in a way to look like tentacles, so I went with this initial vision and created the outcome I wanted quicker than expected.

After completing the dinosaur for the second time, I then went and asked classmates and tutors again, and also people within the current Isle of Man College library if they could make out my completed illustrated jellyfish and dinosaur. The information I gathered was very positive and informed me that out of the 20 people I asked (varying from 15-20), 18 of them could tell me exactly what I was trying to convey within 5 seconds.

LIBRARY PRIMARY RESEARCH.

Which was a rewarding piece of information to find out, making me feel confident with the refinements I had made – suiting a segment of my target audience with them being able to fully understand it.

Once I figured out the ‘dinosaur’ that I wanted. I had to make the word plural, which meant fitting in the ‘S’. At first, you can see from the above images that I found it hard to choose what could be illustrated with the letter S. After experimenting I figured that it being used as a tongue was the most ideological and obvious was of correlating the s with the word dinosaur to make it plural.

Initially the above image colour scheme and text placement was hard to choose as I liked them equally. After realising the white on the black emphasized the illustrations more so, I stuck with this colour combination. Then changed the font to a style which I thought best communicated with the sketches.

4

Fact Summary:

The above is the final piece of my visual fact which is ‘jellyfish are older than dinosaurs’ which I heavily focused on illustrative typography. In my opinion it is probably my favourite and most strongest poster that I created. I feel after completing this visual fact I am a lot more confident with illustrating typography and feel a slight pull towards this medium within graphic design. If I did have more time however and if I was going to change anything it would have to be concluding the whole poster with hand drawn elements, I feel this would make the over all impression and aesthetic of the poster my in sync and fluid as everything would be in the same style instead of ‘did you know that’ and ‘are older than’ in a selected font which does in fact add alteration to the end piece but I think it would generally look nicer if I approached it within the same style throughout.

Most of the peer feedback gave really positive reviews on the jellyfish and dinosaur complimenting it over all which was really good to know, especially the jellyfish. Another aspect I may change would be the character of hand drawn letters within the illustrations, maybe creating a certain feel, which adds a relevant say dinosaur feeling (maybe take a Jurassic park approach so the reader/viewer gains more of an insight to what it is.


‘Jellyfish are 95% water’ was the next fact that I started to home in on, with the initial sketches and concepts shown above and below. As you can see I tried to figure out a way of presenting the whole fact, in the shape of a jellyfish. This would enable the audience to grasp a better view and perception of the fact being shown, conveying that it is about jellyfish from initial viewings.

Below shows a mock up I did of a rough idea which is shown above. I wanted to gather a better idea how this idea would look digitized, and how easy it would be graphically conquering my idea, thinking about a suitable font that could replicate the ‘A’ coherently a  long with the rest of the text involved in the design. I realised that this idea may not be possible by taking it straight from the computer, manipulating the given fonts and other aspects of the image. This allowed me to get my pencil out again and refine this design, by hand sketching it to the desired shape I wanted it.

jelly typog

Below shows development of my initial ideas, which stemmed from the above. I realised that I may have to hand draw my desired outcome rather than relying on the computer and set fonts and rules that Photoshop could offer. I started by drawing the outline of a jellyfish, whilst adding in the word. The left image below is basically the final design, with a few minor touch ups within Photoshop.

The one’s below are more experimentation’s of the same idea, a part from the fact I tried to make the A from the jelly fish, so the fact would read ‘A jellyfish is 95% H2O’. After gathering peer feedback people just saw the illustrated jellyfish and the text within it – people found it hard to make out the A.

As you can see the above experiments I looked into didn’t seem to have too much of an impact on the design, if anything it weekend it – making it less visually/aesthetically pleasing. It was harder to make out the fact that I originally  planned to convey. This is why I stuck with the other initial developments, and even included a ‘sea life blue’ colour pallet/scheme which I got from the Adobe Color sight in which there are multiple colour pallets available to suit your needs.

colour palet

I used a geometric pattern complimenting the over all poster, which is displayed in the background being quite opaque and subtle,adding a mere but definite effect on the overall design. As you can see I used the above colour scheme within the geometric patterns to give the end piece an over all ocean like feel, expressing different colours and contrasts of ‘sea life blue’

1

Fact Summary:

This poster was also one of my favourite outcomes, utilizing the imagery with type. If I had to edit this I would try and convey a similar outcome to the above but experimenting with other relevant design styles


Fact – ‘Jellyfish are 95% water’

As I had a couple of initial ideas of the same fact, I decided to create 2 visual infographics revolved around the same fact. The idea was formed quite fast, and developed within a couple of sketches to the concept that I liked, below shows the initial ideas.

After I experimented with the jelly fish in a cup, suggesting it’s the water, or equivalent to the water – I re-sketched it just once more and came to the conclusion that I wanted to use the developed idea.

Once I figured what I wanted to digitize I then went into Photoshop and starting graphically drawing my idea with an wacom cintiq 13HD tablet. This allowed me to convey my ideas exactly how I depicted them. As you can see I added a smiley face on the jellyfish, this was to add character to the jellyfish and make it more appealing to my target audience, seeming more playful and exciting.

Once the jellyfish was complete, I then drew the cup of water which it was floating in and the measurement (%) percentage line – simply with the brush tool in Photoshop, accompanied by the tablet and pen below.

41mqxqx1ywl-_sx300_

After the jellyfish in a cup was completed I then worked on a hand illustrated font which I thought would be a suitable and correlating factor concerning the word ‘water and jellyfish’ I then experimented with another geometric shape background, just to see the outcome.

The below poster is another finished ‘jellyfish are 95% water’ fact portrayed more so with illustrations that a more typographic approach. I used the initial jellyfish in a cup as the several dotted jellies within the background.

geojelly1

I also made an alternative of the original poster incorporating the same jellyfish in a cup, but changed the text slightly editing the ‘95%’ and the ‘water’ just to see what compositional benefits were gained/changed. I also slightly altered the background jellyfish – changing the scale and rotation of the jellyfish giving it a more lively feel to it, suggesting motion in a way – especially how I used a border of 1.5 cm all the way around the original poster to give it a more solid appearance which hopefully makes the imagery seem more powerful and effective. I did not however on the altered version of this infographic poster. I do think it throws the aesthetics, compositionally out of the window,and gives it weaker appearance than when there is some rules applied, such as the border to keep everything subconsciously in sync.


 

Fact; ‘some jellyfish glow in the dark’

As I was wanting to experiment with typography within this project I approached the posters differently, and tried to possess a different style of manipulated type within each jellyfish poster. Below shows my initial plans for the above fact. I automatically knew that I wanted to incorporate the glow somehow, it was just how to approach this concept.

Scan 29

More ideas follow, in which gave me a real heads up in the direction I wanted to take this poster. I then thought I would have a go at experimenting with my idea of ‘negative space’ influenced by an awesome graphic designer who’s amazing at presenting eye catching and aesthetically pleasing visuals, and lots of experimentation with negative space. Below are links to his Behance and Dribbble page, where there are some amazing pieces which I really really like.

https://www.behance.net/milash

https://dribbble.com/george-bokhua

Capture

Scan 30

I started to get somewhere with the ‘glow’ and the ‘dark’ trying to combine the two words as one. It was hard to try and make them both easily visible within basically the word ‘dark’ but I was determined to incorporate this sense of negative space once I had my mindset on it. Below shows the further experiments and touch ups of the sketch above, trying to synchronise the 2 letters to look as closely to one letter as possible.

Scan 31

I was then able to use the intuos cintiq drawing tablet yet again to make my idea digital. Above shows the glow around the ‘glow in the dark which I managed to increase the intensity by adding several layers with the glow effect in photoshop, I feel this emphsized the glow and intensity, making the viewers eyes lead to the focal point being the negaive space ‘glow in the dark’.

I then added the same jellyfish that I made for the jellyfish in a cup as this saved me a lot of time and I felt this was already an easily reconcilable jellyfish figure. I did have a few problems with the words ‘in the’ and the placement of these words and the font style in which I would display them. I tried lots of varieties in which these words could be placed and read the easiest. I figured that colour coding the words ‘glow’ and ‘in’ different to the words ‘the’ and ‘dark’ would portray the fact that the words follow on from each other, making more sense to the viewers.

I also had to trim convert jellyfish, into its recognizable nick name of jellies. the reasoning behind this was because within the background, I made some jellyfish glow, hence the fact.. But this only enabled me to be able to write out ‘jellies’ as there weren’t enough jellyfish in the background to highlight, so the word jellyfish would’ve been a lot smaller than the word some, which would have looked pretty rubbish in my opinion, and class mates.

3

Fact Summary:

This is the finished poster for ‘some jellies glow in the dark’. I did initially struggle with coming up with a suitable way of manipulating the negative space effect with the ‘glow in the dark’. Some peer students still tell me I could’ve somehow experimented more so with the negative space style that I tried to replicate. Also I increased the glow, but have been told it could be too bright and powerful in which it distracts the eye whilst trying to concentrate on the poster as a whole. This was constructive feedback,  predominantly the negative feature was the glow not being as powerful and eye-catching.


Obesity + Overweight within children fact-

research links –

PublicHealthEngland

theStateofObesity

CDC

WHO

better health channel

medlineplus

NHS

ITV

Below shows the initial research I completed of potential facts that I could present visually. As you can see I researched a range of possible facts that could be used, but wanted to keep it as short as possible, for a more snappy, powerful effect.

Scan 8

Below shows more planning for how I could approach this specific topic, and what I could include to make my poster look as good as possible.

Scan 9

Initial sketches/story board ideas are shown below which prompted further development with my concepts.

Scan 10

A rough typographic piece concerning childhood obesity is shown below. I don’t consider this good enough to be a final piece, it was developed from the above image (bottom left) but didn’t take too much time or effort so it has less meaning for me than the other posters I produced. I liked the idea of manipulating food and also drawn illustrations to narrate the poster more so, so I focused on combining a few of the thumbnails portrayed above.

Obesity typography

Below is a sketch of what I wanted to convey, being a young obese child. The benefit of using a wacom cintiq tablet is that you can just easy trace/mirror the exact drawings you originally planned. this means if you sketch it right first time, the rest is easy, transforming it onto a computer or laptop digitally.

Scan 11

Once I got the first ‘child’ sketched I just used the same body for the next child which was a girl. I did this by graphically editing the body that was digitized within Photoshop with simple editing tools, such as the transformation option (CTRL T). Below you can see all I had to do was replace the head which could then be placed on the other edited body.

Scan 12

I also wanted to use typically stereotyped fast foods which have an ‘overweight’ and ‘fatty’ stigma attached to them. So the message i was trying to convey had more meaning behind it and the message was easily recognizable. Below shows the concept of which I wanted to adopt.

obesity infographic

Below shows the digitized versions of the overweight and obese children that I drew. Literally just editing their clothe colours and the bodies slightly.

Initially the posters below where the ones I thought were my completed ones – but there were further alterations due to asking people what they thought and gaining some valuable feedback.

I came to the conclusion of combining two facts that I’d found being; ‘12.8% of reception children are overweight’ and ‘9.1 % of reception children are obese’ As this was quite a long fact, I thought it would be a good idea to create a series of posters, one following another, so they could be displayed side by side.

Taking note from colour theory and doing a little research of what colours can be correlated with fast food. I found that red and yellow are the most provocative colours to incorporate within any fast food related product – e.g McDonalds.

I also changed the positioning of the illustrated characters involved within the poster as I thought that it looked better composition wise, and allowed me to make the illustrated characters a little larger, so you could see them in more detail.

Obesity Fact Poster1

Obesity Fact Poster11

Fact Summary:

I am happy with the outcomes of this poster, gained valuable feedback concerning that everything is so precise and eye-catching that there doesn’t seem to be a focal point, which was a valid point for me to consider. If I was to change anything I think it would have to be the bold, heavy ‘stand out’ font used within the poster so this would allow the eye to focus on the more important figures/subjects like the illustrative.I think another negative factor is that the illustrated character may not come across as young as they should be which is in the age range of 4-5 year olds. I did however spend a lot of time on the illustrations within this poster which i am quite proud of, this did increase my confidence with the drawing tablet, becoming more knowledgeable, fluent with actually using the device.


Evaluation-

Presenting facts visually was the theme of this project. These facts could be presented via any medium of media; be it animation, film, photography, graphics, or a variation of these topics.. This was a really good factor just because it meant you could focus on your preferred area within the creative media subjects, or a selection. I found this project very fun as graphic design is what I will be studying at university if I achieve the grades required. And lots of graphic design work is revolved around infographics and there are many graphic posters in which to take influence from regarding factual imagery. Therefore I thought this allowed me to explore the area I love the most being purely graphic design/illustrations.

Alterations were made early on – after I originally set myself 3 sub headed titles to revolve my facts around, being; religion, rollerskating and obesity I realised that I was asking a lot of myself within the time frame given, so after consideration and evaluation, I narrowed the subjects down to ‘jellyfish facts’ and ‘Obesity’. I developed and initiated ideas through mind maps and thumbnails which I could scribble down any thoughts or visions.

Research and influential factors were gathered mainly online, through many different sites and pages, although I did gain influence and valuable knowledge from factors within certain lessons, like analysing typography as a whole, looking at colour, text, composition etc as well as the different forms of typography such as illustrative and direct type manipulation. These lessons and overviews did help me and prompt me to have a deeper look and experiment with typography as a whole, which was very fun as I do like typography and the way it can evoke the viewer as well as inform in a clever clear way.

Flat 2.0 design was something I planned on originally exploring as well as animation, just because I wanted to refresh my animation skills as I’m thinking of incorporating animation within my FMP and flat 2.0 design really fascinates and interests me. But I just focused on general 2D graphic design and typography, typography being a medium that I wanted to play around with and think I gained positive results of this within my posters. If I had more time I would’ve definitely included animation/motion graphic elements and also an extra poster for Obesity as one of my focal points, concerning the factual elements.


 

library photo

library photo 2

Facts Completed example 22

Facts Completed example

Leave a Reply

