Animation

The task for our first animation lesson was to make a ‘foodie’ which was to represent ourselves through a basic walking/jumping stop motion animation. This is I went through recycled magazines, cereal boxes the lot, to find different foods which I really enjoy which could in somewhat represent me. The foods making up myself below include; a tomato, noodles, a cherry, a raspberry, a steak, a party ring, a pink wafer, a shreddie, a chicken nugget, and kit kats as these foods would be classed some of my favourites.

To create the basic stop motion animation linked further below, I used an Ipad with a tri-pod so I could alter the height precisely and accurately without changing the camera’s positioning – this allows the background to maintain locked behind the focal point (being the ‘foodie’).

img_5202

‘foodie’ basic stop motion;


Below is a similar basic stop motion which I created last year which I created by snipping small parts of the ivy away to give it a growth effect.

stop motion


Introduction to Blender;

We had a play around within the program Blender as our first introduction to the software, this was to enhance and experiment with the very basic building blocks within Blender.

1

There are different modes within Blender which allows you to explore with the different options/effects available, such as ‘object mode’ which allows you to move and focus on the objects you have made as a whole, the object being the square above, ‘edit mode’ which allows you to manipulate the shape by selecting various options available.

2

below shows the pre-set shapes library in which we experimented with our chosen shape.

3

 

4

When adding another shape you can combine the objects into an item so it’s one shape, by pressing ‘R’ while in blender and with a shape selected it allows you to maneuver the selected object so you are able to combine the objects together

5

Once I combined the shapes into one object, I then had a little mess around with the  basic effects accessible. The red circled area in the image above shows the very basic shape manipulation tools in which you can edit and change specific corners or points of the shape, the sides of a shape or even change the persepctive of the shape by dragging out specific lines of the object.

6

I then had a little explore within the texture panel available which can really add character to your manipulated object, and showed me how it come be very useful when making diverse 3D animations which is relevant and useful for future outcomes.


Motion tracking

Above is the design process I learnt when ‘motion tracking’ within blender. I took a free stock video from online of the crab, then motion detected the crab’s eye and added the unrealistic animated eye ball which I also used from the internet to overlay the crabs eye. This was a useful effect to have covered as it may be crucial within certain parts of my music video.

Leave a Reply

